Andrea R. Tao

Brief Bio
Office: Structural and Materials Engineering, 244K
Phone: (858) 822-4237

A.B. in Chemistry and Physics, Harvard
Ph.D. in Chemistry, UC Berkeley


  • Professor & Vice Chair of Education, NanoEngineering
  • Deputy Director  |  San Diego Nanotechnology Infrastructure:
  • IRG1 Lead  |  UC San Diego MRSEC:
  • Founding Faculty | UC San Diego Institute for Materials Discovery & Design: 

Lab Manager

Jacqueline Lampert
B.S. in Chemistry, Cal Poly Pomona
Phone: (626) 660-4642

Group Members

Bin Wang
Post-Doctoral Researcher
B.S. in Applied Chemistry, Central South University
M.S. in Chemical Engineering, Fudan University
Ph.D. in Chemistry, UC Davis


Yuan Zeng
Materials Science
B.S. in Materials Science, University of Arizona



Sean Garner
Materials Science
B.S. in Chemical Engineering, UC Santa Barbara



Yu Xie
B.S. in Materials Science, ShanghaiTech University



Wade Shipley
Materials Science
B.S. in Chemical Engineering, California State University Long Beach



Yufei Wang
Materials Science
B.S. in Chemistry, minor in Math, Davidson College



Alexander Fuqua
B.S. in Materials Science, UCLA





Sha Wu
B.S in Materials Science and Engineering, Jilin Institute of Chemical Technology




Nathan Bradshaw
B.S. in NanoEngineering, expected 2022


Group Alums

  • Elora Ocampo (B.S. in Chemical Engineering) – Proctor & Gamble
  • Kathy On (M.S. in Chemistry) – NanoImaging Services
  • Jonathan Chen (B.S. in Neuroscience)- Yale, graduate student in Bioengineering
  • Vivian Li (B.S. in Chemical Engineering) 
  • Marvin Lav (B.S. in Chemical Engineering)
  • Wilson Wong (B.S. in Chemical Engineering) – Fluor 
  • Bo Gao (Post-doc 2009-2013)
  • Yahya Alvi (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2013; M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014)
  • David Rosen (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2013; NE Dept. Award of Excellence; M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014)
  • Vincent Li (B.S. in Chemical Engineering, 2014; Huppert Award) – Georgia Tech, grad student in Chemical Engineering
  • Melissa Wette (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014; NE Dept. Award of Excellence)- Stanford, graduate student in Materials Science
  • Nathan Velez (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014) – UC Berkeley, graduate student in Materials Science
  • Charles Ngo (B.S. in Chemical Engineering, 2014)
  • Kargal Gurunatha (Ph.D. in Chemistry, CEMES-CNRS in Toulouse)
  • Nimai Mehta (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014)
  • Brandon Marin (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014)
  • Tarah Sullivan (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2014)
  • Andrea Rodarte (Ph.D. in Physics, 2014) – Sandia National Laboratories
  • Madhura Som (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2015)
  • Darwin Zwissler (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2016)
  • Sarrah Marvi (M.S. in Chemical Engineering, 2016)
  • Eric Brown (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2016)
  • Eduardo Lupi (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2016) – UC Berkeley, grad student in Mat Sci
  • Tyler Dill (Ph.D. in NanoEngineering, 2017) – Illumina
  • Whitney Bryks (Ph.D. in NanoEngineering, 2017) – Intel
  • Matthew Rozin (Ph.D. in Materials Science, 2017)
  • Stephen Palani (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2017) – OHSU, grad student
  • Reiko Liu (M.S. in Chemical Engineering, 2017)
  • Stephanie Smith (B.S. in NanoEngineering and Chemistry, 2017) – UCSD, grad student in Nano
  • Matthew Tse (Rutgers/REU mentor, Summer 2017)
  • Zandra Rojo (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2017) – University of Washington, grad student in Mat Sci
  • Oanh Nguyen (B.S. in NanoEngineering, 2017)
  • Aidan Lucas (NanoEngineering, Fall 2017-Summer 2018)
  • Erick Alvarado (Chemical Engineering, Winter 2018-Summer 2018)
  • Samuel Spraker (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2018) – Intel
  • Matthew Creyer (M.S. in NanoEngineering, 2019)
  • Mi Do (NanoEngineering, Spring 2019-present)
  • Emmanuel Rojas (ENLACE undergraduate intern, Summer 2019)
  • Axel Gaona (ENLACE undergraduate intern, Summer 2019)
  • Lauren Hoffman (M.S. in Chemical Engineering, 2019)
  • Riddhi Ananth (B.S. in Chemistry, 2020) – Northwestern, Ph.D. program
  • Jake Bilyk (M.S. in Materials Science, 2021)